Monthly Muses | June

The Look:

{Vintage Scarf, Forever 21 necklace (similar here) American Eagle dress}

{Urban Decay eyeshadow, Dolce&Gabbana lip gloss, Covergirl mascara}

The Inspiration:

{beautiful blooms in Washington Square Park}

The concept of color has always inspired me. I study the Pantone Fashion Color Reports intently, and I wrote my college essay about crayons. I have been telling people since I was in middle school that my dream job would be inventing new Essie nail polish colors.

As a result of my obsession, it is only fitting that the first post of my new monthly series is centered around color. I bring you the June edition of “Monthly Muses,” which focuses on a floral color combo that inspired me. Each post of this series will showcase an outfit detail and the creative inspiration it stemmed from- whether it was a color, pattern, old photograph, or a Coke bottle.

This month, I was inspired by these lush hydrangeas in Washington Square Park, which is my favorite New York City park. The soft baby pink petals contrast beautifully with the deep green hue of the leaves. I decided to tie in this pretty watermelon-esque color combo into my outfit for a sunny June Wednesday, pairing a light green floral headscarf with an eyelet dress and hot pink lip gloss. My mom found this vintage headscarf in an antique shop, which made it all the more special when she gave it to me as a Christmas gift in high school. I absolutely love the way its faded colors looked against the bright lip color.

The perfect balance of the pink + green reflects the wonderful balance of the month of June: the blooming remnants of spring and the exciting beginnings of summer.

I hope this inspires you to find ideas for outfits everywhere!

xx, Laina

P.S. you can view my “colors” board on Pinterest here. 

Leave a Reply

