Confidence

{Nike Free Run sneakers}

After being home from college for the past two weeks with nothing to do, the only things that truly occupy up my day are usually coffee, Pinterest, and exercising. I like to work-out in the morning to get it over with. Unfortunately, working out and eating healthy become even more necessary as I grow older in order to stay healthy, and sometimes I really struggle to find the motivation and inspiration to lace up my sneakers and hit the pavement. I put so much time and effort into tracking my runs and my meals on the various iPhone apps, finding new ab and leg workouts, and trying new yoga moves. However, at times it feels that working out and trying to reach my desired body is all I think about. I am simply exhausted from my mind being consumed with thoughts about body image. With so much “skinny inspiration” on Pinterest, Tumblr, and even the photos we post on Instagram, comparing oneself to others and trying to achieve “perfection” have become second nature, for myself and for other girls my age.

Part of the beauty of life is our little quirks and the ways we are different from those around us.  I will admit that society has come a long way in showing that body image does mean being a certain size or looking a certain way, but I do feel that we still have a long way to go. The desire to have a tiny waist, perfect abs, and hot-dog legs is cemented even further as we scroll through our Instagram feed.

I honestly and truly believe everyone is beautiful, and I aspire to spread this message to others throughout my life. One of my summer goals is to have more confidence and be nicer to myself when I look in the mirror, because I only get one life and I plan to live it to its fullest. Sulking about my body the majority of the day is a miserable way to go throughout my twenties, so I am really going to work on ending this terrible habit of mine.

It is time to begin a new era of pure confidence, acceptance, and inspiration to be who you want to be. I realize people have said this time and time again and it has been attempted before, but society eventually gives up and goes back to our “thinspo” ideals. I hope you will join me in this movement. Remember, you are beautiful inside and out. Do not let anyone let you think otherwise.

xx, Laina

Leave a Reply

